Monday, August 12, 2019

The Musical Adventures of Grace: Winter - Book Review

Series Overview:

The Musical Adventures of Grace book series was developed by a former Physician Assistant ,Ken Korber, who made a dramatic career change to storybook author after 30 years in the healthcare industry. Today, Ken's published writings have led to the formation of The Healthy Music Project. This program uses books and characters as educational tools for building reading skills, appreciating elements of music, and advocating wellness for the general public, and with in at-risk vulnerable communities of children and adults.

Grace is the main character from the four part series "The Musical Adventures of Grace," and was inspired by his son, a cellist, about grace notes – “minor notes that are sometimes used by the orchestrato give the music more ‘color." The story follows a grace note that is transformed into a little girl who, then, goes on to make new musical friends. Throughout Grace's adventures, she, and her crew, learn about the magical things that happen when you create, play instruments, sing, and listen to all kinds of music.

another book in the series

Book Overview:

Age Range: 5 - 6 years
Paperback: 28 pages
Publisher: Tate Publishing (September 15, 2015)

This Winter story represents the first of four seasonal adventures where a grace note is transformed into a little girl through the magic of a holiday concert, because she wants to know where the music goes after the notes are played. In the three stories that follow, Grace meets new friends and learns more about the magical things that can be accomplished through creating, playing, and listening to all kinds of music.

My Review:

If you have a young child interested in music, The Musical Adventures of Grace book series may capture their attention.  There are four books, one for each season.  I received the Winter book.  It tells of a place called Piperstown whose people are excited to be a part of a music concert.  The orchestra was especially happy this year because a famous conductor was going to lead the concert.  Within all the joy was a sad musical note who wanted to stand out just like all the larger, more important notes.  With luck, the grace note was allowed to be played several times during the concert.  When the event was over, all the grace notes turned into a girl named Grace who happily figured out the answer to where notes go after they are played.

This is a short story with a lot of whimsy.  I wasn't sure what exactly a grace note was when reading this book so I looked up the definition.  It is an extra note added as an embellishment and not essential to the harmony or melody.  In this story, the grace notes are given as big of a role as all the other notes.  In the end, the notes magically form into a little girl.  This is the first book in the 4-part series and the girl who was formed from the music notes goes on to create more adventures in the other three books.

I received product for review.  The opinions within this post are of my own and I was not influenced in any way.  Please do your own research before purchasing products or using services.  Your opinions and results may differ.