Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Fall Under A Spooky Spell with Candlewick Press this Halloween - Book Set Giveaway


Malamander (The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea series)

By Thomas Taylor, illustrated by Tom Booth

9781536207224 | Ages 8 to 12

“Taylor assembles the sort of supporting cast that makes anything seem possible.”—Booklist

It’s winter in the town of Eerie-on-Sea, where the mist is thick and the salt spray is rattling the windows of the Grand Nautilus Hotel. Inside, young Herbert Lemon, Lost and Founder for the hotel, has an unexpected visitor. It seems that Violet Parma, a fearless girl around his age, lost her parents at the hotel when she was a baby, and she’s sure that the nervous Herbert is the only person who can help her find them. The trouble is, Violet is being pursued at that moment by a strange hook-handed man. And the town legend of the Malamander—a part-fish, part-human monster whose egg is said to make dreams come true—is rearing its scaly head. As various townspeople, some good-hearted, some nefarious, reveal themselves to be monster hunters on the sly, can Herbert and Violet elude them and discover what happened to Violet’s kin? This lighthearted, fantastical mystery, featuring black-and-white spot illustrations, kicks off a trilogy of fantasies set in the seaside town.

 Malamander, the launch title for a new middle grade series called Legends of Eerie-on-Sea, is now on MAJOR price promotion on Amazon - for a short time readers can purchase this brand new hardcover for UNDER TEN DOLLARS while the deal lasts.

It’s a perfect family and classroom read-aloud and great gift book for fans of Lemony Snicket, Greenglass House, and Percy Jackson – with the next book scheduled to release in early 2020.
For more activities, check out the draw your own sea-monster activity kit!



Ghost in the House

By Ammi-Joan Paquette, illustrated by Adam Record

9780763655297 | Ages 3 to 7

There’s a ghost in the house, In the creepy haunted house, On this dark spooky night all alone.

When a little ghost goes slip-sliding down the hallway, he suddenly hears...a groan! Turns out it’s only a friendly mummy, who shuffles along with the ghost, until they encounter...a monster! As the cautious explorers continue, they find a surprise at every turn—and add another adorably ghoulish friend to the count. But you’ll never guess who is the scariest creature in the house!

Boo! Watch out for this rollicking, cumulative counting book for a Halloween treat that’s more playful than scary.



Give Me Back My Bones

By Kim Norman, illustrated by Bob Kolar

9780763688417 | Ages 4 to 8

“Both macabre and cheery—a rare treat.”—Kirkus Reviews

Cast a spyglass ’round here
while breakers curl and pound here.
There’s treasure to be found here —
I feel it in my bones!

A stormy night at sea has uncovered some long-buried secrets and surprises. Is that the mast of a shipwreck? A faded pirate hat? And what’s that hiding in the sand? A mandible and a clavicle, phalanges and femurs, a tibia and a fibula—could there be a set of bones scattered across the ocean floor? And who might they belong to? A jaunty rhyme takes readers on an underwater scavenger hunt as a comical skeleton tries to put itself back together piece by piece. Make no bones about it: this rollicking read-aloud will have young ones learning anatomy without even realizing it.

A silly pirate skeleton seeks to put its bones back together in this rhyming romp beneath the waves.



Pick a Pumpkin

By Patricia Toht, illustrated by Jarvis

9781536207644 | Ages 3 to 7

“Charming picture book.”—Booklist

Pick a pumpkin from the patch. Tall and lean or short and fat. Vivid orange, ghostly white, or speckled green, might be just right.

Pairing a wonderfully rhythmic read-aloud text with expressive retro illustrations, author Patricia Toht and illustrator Jarvis capture all the excitement and familial feeling of a favorite holiday tradition. Readers will be happy to follow along with each step, from picking out the perfect specimen at the pumpkin patch (be sure to stop for cider and toffee apples) to carting it home, scooping out the insides, carving a scary face, and finally lighting a candle inside—savoring the familiar ritual of transforming an ordinary pumpkin into a one-of-a-kind glowing jack-o’-lantern.

The creators of Pick a Pine Tree are back with a joyful, energetic celebration of a Halloween tradition.


 The Little Grey Girl (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book Two)

By Celine Kiernan

9781536201512 | Ages 9 to 12

The old queen and her raggedy witches have fled Witches Borough, and Mup’s family has moved into the cold, newly empty castle. But the queen’s legacy lingers in the fear and mistrust of her former subjects and in the memories that live in the castle’s very walls. While Mup’s mam tries to restore balance to a formerly oppressed world, Mup herself tries to settle into her strange new home with her dad, Tipper, and Crow. When an enchanted snow blankets the castle, Mup’s family is cut off from the rest of the kingdom, and the painful memories of the old queen’s victims begin to take form, thanks to a ghost whose power may be too much for even Mup and Mam to handle. Celine Kiernan weaves a timely and essential truth into the second book of her trilogy: that dismantling oppression means honoring the pains of the past, and perhaps the most potent magic of all is encouraging joy and hope wherever possible.

In the second book of the Wild Magic trilogy, courageous young Mup and her family are trying to heal and restore the kingdom when they uncover an ancient and powerful anger.


Joe Quinn’s Poltergeist

By David Almond, illustrated by Dave McKean

9781536201604 | Ages 12 and up

 “A keen collaboration moving seamlessly between worlds inner and outer, natural and supernatural.”—Kirkus Reviews

Joe Quinn has been telling everyone about the poltergeist in his house, but no one believes him. No one, that is, except Davie. Davie’s felt the inexplicable presence in the Quinns’ house and seen random objects fly through the air. And there’s something else . . . a memory of Davie’s beloved sister and a feeling deep down that it might just be possible for ghosts to exist. Full of thoughts of hauntings and grief and God, Davie hovers on a precipice of uncertainty and possibility, a space that storyteller David Almond occupies comfortably and returns to again and again—here paired once more with the dynamic, dreamlike mixed-media art of Dave McKean.

There’s a poltergeist in Joe Quinn’s house, and Davie is determined to discover its source in this lively, hopeful graphic storybook from David Almond and Dave McKean.



The Lost Coast

By Amy Rose Capetta

9781536200966 | Ages 14 and up

“This is a slow-burning, mystical, and romantic character study about the life-affirming magic of finding a place to belong after being lost for so long.”—Booklist

Danny didn’t know what she was looking for when she and her mother spread out a map of the United States and Danny put her finger down on Tempest, California. What she finds are the Grays: a group of friends who throw around terms like queer and witch like they’re ordinary and every day, though they feel like an earthquake to Danny. But Danny didn’t just find the Grays. They cast a spell that calls her halfway across the country, because she has something they need: she can bring back Imogen, the most powerful of the Grays, missing since the summer night she wandered into the woods alone. But before Danny can find Imogen, she finds a dead boy with a redwood branch through his heart. Something is very wrong amid the trees and fog of the Lost Coast, and whatever it is, it can kill. Lush, eerie, and imaginative, Amy Rose Capetta’s tale overflows with the perils and power of discovery—and what it means to find your home, yourself, and your way forward.

The spellbinding tale of six queer witches forging their own paths, shrouded in the mist, magic, and secrets of the ancient California redwoods.

Win It!

One person will win all seven Candlewick Press books listed above.

*This is a Rafflecopter giveaway open to residents of the USA.*

I will receive products for review.  Please do your own research before purchasing products or using services.  Your opinions and results may differ.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

38 comments:

Jamie Martin said...

The Lost Coast

Julie Waldron said...

Pick a Pumpkin

New Jersey girl said...

We would read Joe Quinn's Poltergeist first.
Flyergal82 (st /yahoo -dot !com

laurie nykaza said...

Pick a Pumpkin would be our fist book to read but they do all sound amazing .

DEBIJOT said...

He would enjoy Give Me Back My Bones.

aperry said...

We would love to read Pick a Pumpkin.

LazyDayLit said...

We recently read Give Me Back My Bones at the library and it was fantastic so I'm sure my daughter would immediately pick that one! I personally love Dave McKean's artwork!

(Stacy Renee)

monique s said...

Give Me Back My Bones would be the first on the reading list

Lauryn R said...

I think my kids would love the Ghost in the House book! They all look great though, I love books!

Steph said...

I think my kids would read Joe Quinn’s Poltergeist first.

John Smith said...

"Leave a comment on this blog post with which of the books your child would first like to read." "Malamander" looks like an exciting read!

Renee said...

We Love Ghost in The House and I'd read that one to her again!

Aleksandra Nearing said...

My daughter would love to read Malamander most of all!

Darlene said...

She would read Pick a Pumpkin first.

Jan Lee said...

I think Ghost in the House would be the first book to be read :)

jesse james said...

Best Article buy weed online Excellent post. I appreciate this site. Stick with it! Because the admin of this web page is working, no doubt very quickly it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.This website was how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally, I’ve found something that helped me.

Lisa Williams said...

My kids would love to read Joe Quinn's Poltergeist first then all the rest because they all sound fun.

bison61 said...

my granddaughter would like the book The Little Grey Girl

tiramisu392 (at) yahoo.com

Heather! said...

I think *Give Me Back My Bones* would be a hit!

Shooting Stars Mag said...

what a fun giveaway. I'd love to check out Ghost in the House.

-Lauren
www.shootingstarsmag.net
lauren51990 AT aol DOT com

msmissy02 said...

I think they'd most like to read the book, "Give me back my bones." DamianMom at yahoo dot com

Edye Nicole said...

Ghost in the house! :)

mia2009(at)comcast(dot)net

Jennifer Cervantes said...

My daughter would love to read pick a pumpkin first.

An Apel a Day said...

Mica hands down would like to read:

Joe Quinn’s Poltergeist

By David Almond, illustrated by Dave McKean

ken ohl said...

my little niece would love pick a pumpkin first

LeAnn Harbert said...

I think my granddaughters would want to read Pick a Pumpkin first.

Faythe said...

Pick a Pumpkin sounds fun for my youngest grandsons.

Francine Anchondo said...

They would read Malamander (The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea series) first

lildevilgirl22 said...

The little grey girl

deedee43 said...

My daughter would probably start with Pick a Pumpkin!

Gina Ferrell said...

My daughter would read Ghost in the House book first.

themommablogger said...

One of the kids would start with Pick a Pumpkin, another would start with Little Grey Girl, another would start with Ghost in the House....

Kayla klontz said...

I think he would read Give Me Back My Bones first.

Jack and the Bean said...

We'd probably read Joe Quinn's Poltergeist first

wen budro said...

Give Me Back My Bones! would probably be the book that my kids would love to read first.

Shelly Leatham said...

My kids would want Give Me Back My Bones!!

Megan Evans said...

They all look incredible, but The Lost Coast!

Sandy said...

Pick a Pumpkin - Sandra pReti